Home      About Na Koa      Membership Info      News & Events      Photo Gallery      Links      FAQs      Donate      Contact Na Koa
Na Koa Announcements
16th Annual Ed Wong Memorial Golf Tournament

A Big Win for Na Koa & Warrior Football

With an 11AM shotgun start, 252 supporters of University of Hawaii Warrior Football teed off at Na Koa’s annual golf tournament fundraiser.

The field was well-represented by corporate sponsors, individual supporters, coaches, former players – even some very respectable golfers managed to make the cut for this sold-out April 13th tournament held at the Hawaii Prince Golf Course.

But golf was simply the back drop for Na Koa’s plan to give participants a day of fun, great food, and prizes in exchange for an outpouring of support for Warrior football.

Funds raised by Na Koa are used to pay for the players’ summer school tuition, food for the team’s training table, equipment, supplies and in general resources that support the football program.

To mark the 16th year of this golf tournament, grand prizes were awarded to the 16th place team, as well as the teams that placed 32nd, 48th, 54th and 7oth. Special on-course events– including longest and most accurate drives and closest to the pin were sponsored by Chevron USA, Gordon Biersch, Pepsi, MS Brokerage, Honda Windward, the Willows, Murphy’s Bar & Grill, Papa John’s Pizza, Paradise Beverage, Frito Lay, Phiten USA, and Excessive Celebration.

One of the highlights of the post-tournament celebration was a seafood bar sponsored by Occidental Insurance that provided 10 different types of the crowd favorite poke. Kimo Kahoano was emcee for the banquet where door prizes were randomly drawn and awarded and the live auction included a tour of ESPN-Los Angeles (donated by Neil Everett); signed NFL football helmets from Colt Brennan, Peyton Manning, and Drew Brees (donated by Shay Yanagi); signed NFL football gloves signed by Patrick Kearney of the Seattle Seahawks and Patrick Willis from the San Francisco 49ers (donated by Brian Calabrese); a round of golf for 4 players at San Ramon Golf Course (donated by Waterhouse Trust – Stanley Mukai); Wine from the Meritage Wine Collection Clos Du Bois, Rubric Blackstone, Estancia Meritage, Hayman Hill Meritage (donated by Alan Suzuki – Constellation); and a security alarm system from DSD Security.

The event’s title sponsors were the Ed Wong Foundation, The Paperie and an anonymous donor. The Tee Sponsors were Beachside Roofing, Hawaiian USA Federal Credit Union and R.M. Towill Corporation.

Na Koa members who made up the tournament committee chaired by Shay Yanagi wish to thank the UH Coaches & Staff, the Honolulu Japanese Chamber of Commerce, the Hawaii Prince Golf Course staff and catering department and the following donors who made this event a successful fundraiser for the U.H. Football program.

some of the tournament's lovely hostesses

Kimo Kahoano congratulates the grand prize-winning team

ABC Corp.Alan SuzukiAloha Signs
Ameron HawaiiAnheuser-Busch Sales of Hawaii, Inc.Bubbies Hawaii Kai - Win Schoneman
Chevron USAConstellationDarrell Ito
Dave & BustersDiamondhead TheatreDiane Stowell
Dr. Ron ReynoldsDSD SecurityEwa Beach Golf Club
Excessive CelebrationsHalekulani CorporationHawaii Prince Golf Course
Hawaii Self StorageHawaiian Airlines Diamondhead ClassicHerbert Minn
Hilton Hawaiian VillageHirasaki-Nakagawa DesignHonda Windward
Hoakalei Country ClubHonolua SurfKUMU 94.7 & 105.9 The Ride
Kyo-ya Hotels & Resorts, LPLorie ChangMark & Theresa Milton
Mauna Lani Golf CourseMid Pacific Country ClubMS Brokerage
Neil Everett - ESPNNike - Troy TsumaOahu Country Club
Oakley SunglassesOceanic Time Warner CableOlomana Golf Links
Peyton YanagiPhiten USAPlaza Club
Pululehua Skin Care AestheticsRichard KatoS & K Sales, Co.
Scott hawaiiSenator Fred HemmingsService Contracting
Sheraton Hawaii BowlSKY PaintingSony Open
Southern Wine & Spirits - Asa TamuraSugoi Bento & CateringTru Door
Ultimate Hawaii Gear Enterprises - Ed FountainUnder Armour - Brian Calabrese Unversity of hawaii Athletics
Waialae Country clubWaikele Country ClubWaterhouse Trust
WebcoWillows RestaurantWindward Honda
Windward Auto SpaYoung's Fish MarketAnonymous Donor

Grand prizes were awarded to the 16th place team (since it was the 16th year of the tournament) and 32nd, 48th, 54th and 70th teams:
16th team
Patsy YamasakiKeith NakamuraRay Okimoto
32nd team
Al KakazuDave NakamaScott Ushijima
48th team
Jason ItoGlenn HirayamaDonald Yannell
54th team
Michael ScottKaione ScottRickey Humphreys
70th team
Gavin MorisadaWade GesteuyalaRick Wagatsuma

Na Koa Home       About Na Koa       Membership Info       University of Hawaii Athletics       'Ahahui Koa Anuenue       Contact Na Koa
©2009 Na Koa Football Club. All rights reserved.